facebook_pixel

MTM Watch Reviews

Please take a moment to read or watch the below MTM watch reviews, which include reviews of our Air Stryk II, Cobra, Falcon, Hypertec, RAD, SEAL, and Silencer watches. You may also check out customer reviews on our Testimonials page or Facebook fan page. Please contact us if you are interested in providing a review or testimonial.


MTM Watch Reviews – Videos

 

YouTube Channel Watch Review Playlist

Includes watch review videos of the following MTM Collections: Air Stryk II Watch, Falcon Watch, Patriot Watch, Hypertec Watch, SEAL Watch, Silencer Watch, and Vulture Watch.

 

 


 

MTM Watch Reviews – Blogs

 

MTM Cobra Review

 

Watch Review: MTM Special Ops Cobra by Time to Blog Watches
February 8th, 2017
TimetoBlogWatches.com

 

Growing up I fondly remember playing GI Joe with my friends. For those of you who grew up in the 1980’s, it always came down to Snake Eyes and Storm Shadow, GI Joe vs Cobra. Two of the coolest characters from the 1980’s series. Even if you didn’t grow up with that GI Joe, playing army was always a staple game in most childhood memories. MTM Special Ops watches connect to my memories from childhood. Today I have the appropriate model in for review, the Cobra. I very excited to take a look at this model up close.

 

First glance impression is tactical stealth. There is no denying the large presence of the 47mm case. Yes it’s large but it’s extremely light weight thanks to it being made of titanium and the black DLC finish gives it a stealth under the radar appearence. That stealthy finish actually allows the watch to wear “smaller” than the 47mm size. If this case was polished stainless steel, it would be a different story. The crown is something that will surely be noticed no matter what finish or material. As you would expect the canteen style crown functions smooth when screwing/unscrewing. When you unscrew the canteen it exposes the actual crown which is used to set the time and date. The Cobra also has a series of button pushers which are used to operate the alarm and the chronograph. All the pushers are easy to push and operate.

 

I firmly believe that a bezel can make or break the overall appearence of a watch. The Cobra’s compass bezel hits the mark on awesome. Compass style bezels just add a touch of toolness to a watch. Which makes perfect sense since tactical and special ops is what MTM does the best. Not only must a bezel look good, but more importantly it needs to function. Smooth, ratcheting action is what you get with the Cobra’s bezel. This bezel makes me happy on all fronts and it even lines up perfectly with the dial markers.

 

The thing that I have come to really appreciate on MTM watches is the square case shape. Now yes the case is 47mm, but MTM planned out the lugs to allow the watch to wear smaller because they kept them short thus cutting down on the wrist overhang. The drilled lugs feature hex head screw bars that are robust and easy to operate for strap changes because MTM includes the tools to do so. This being a tactical watch, I personally want it on the larger size, as a 40mm case would lose its rugged look and become more danty which is the exact opposite of what MTM is trying to achieve here. The Cobra features a screw down case back that has their large knife logo right in the center. I can always appreciate a good, solid case back. It’s an extension of the watch’s personality.

 

I think the dial on the Cobra is just awesome. There is so much to look but not in an overwhelming way. The two sub dials is what I actually noticed first. These dials work in conjunction with the chronograph function. The sub dial at the 12 o’clock market counts the minutes and the sub dial at 6 o’clock is the chronograph 1/20 second hand. The sub dials feature gloss frames that are screwed into the dial itself giving the Cobra a nice aircraft instrument panel look.

 

I’m going to jump to what I noticed next about the Cobra, and what I couldn’t help but notice is the slide rule inner chapter rings. MTM includes a specific set of instructions on how to use this awesome feature for measurement of time, speed, travel. My first experience with this type of bezel/chapter ring system was on a Breitling Navitimer. It was cool then and it is still cool now. Even if you don’t ever use this function, it’s ok because it still looks pretty bad ass. I love how precise MTM was about making certain that everything and I mean everything lines up without fail. If you are using this as a measurement tool, you want it to be as precise as possible. Am I right?

 

The dial features some great lume and large indices that ensures legitability in all lighting situations, dim light, bright light, no light. 12, 3, 6, 9 are all accounted for and the other numbers are represented by large rectangle indices. You may notice the small sub dial at the 9 o’clock position and an even smaller one at the 8 o’clock position, these are used for the Cobra’s alarm. A helpful feature for those on the go. I find this feature very useful when I’m spending time in the great outdoors. Connecting to the basics without relying on extra tech such as smart phones or tablets. Keeping it simple is sometimes really refreshing. An escape from our busy, over complicated life.

 

The hands on the Cobra are a first for me actually. It’s nice to see something different, especially when it works.The hands are matte gray and black. I have never had a watch with matte grey hands like these. The hour and minute hands are coated with lume of course and the arrow tip of the second hand is as well. All the sub dial hands are also matte grey, but do not feature ant lume. All of the hands on the Cobra look great. The Cobra also features a date window at the 3 o’clock position, a traditional white wheel with black printed numerals. MTM kept the text on the dial to a minimum, ‘MTM SPECIAL OPS, USA 660FT/200M WATER RESISTANT. The subtle touches of color found throughout the Cobra’s dial offers a balanced and an aesthetically pleasing look.

 

The Cobra gets its power from a highly calibrated and extremely accurate Japenese quartz movement. With my time with the Cobra, I never lost or gained any time. It’s very, very accurate as you should expect from a quartz movement. It has a battery life of 3 years. I was a little disappointed that the Cobra didn’t use the same battery system as the Silencer that I reviewed last year. The Silencer uses a rechargeable battery that lasts several months on a single charge. Honestly this was my only disappointment with the Cobra.

 

As with most of MTM watches, you have several choices in customizing it to your personal preferences and that is what I did with the strap. My last MTM review was on a bracelet, so I wanted to see what else MTM had to offer so I decided to go with the Ballistic Velcro strap. The strap gets some getting used to in terms of functional looping it and getting the keeper in place can be a little tricky. But once you get it down, everything functions great. I like this strap because you can easily wear it over a jacket which translates into the field excellently. Plus it keeps the watch light and retains the stealth style.

 

The Cobra achieves what MTM wanted to provide the wearer, a tactical watch, that has useful features that can be easily used in all settings, especially out in the field. This watch is extremely durable and is assembled within the United States. I like that it’s made of titanium which makes it very light weight and this also translates well into the field as you don’t want any unnecessary added weight. The 660FT of water resistance comes in handy as well. Not that I advise abusing any watch purposely, the Cobra is made to handle abuse. This is an advantage of having a quartz moevement because it elimates extra parts that have the potential of getting damaged from extreme impact shock.

 

The Cobra is a great companion for those who are in the military or in the police line of work. It also is a great companion if you are like me and do a lot of outdoor activity. It can handle it all because it was made for it. $1500 price point some may deem this pricey for using a watch for such activity, but I for one don’t want to worry if my watch can keep up with me when I’m doing such activities. Some things come at a price and I don’t necessarily mind paying a bit extra for such reassurance. You won’t have to worry about the Cobra failing you and looking great on the wrist is an added bonus.

 

Thanks to MTM for allowing me to do this review, it was an honor. Thank you all for reading and as always I am happy to answer any questions. Feel free to comment or ask below.

 


 

MTM Falcon Reviews

 

A Bird Of Prey Has Landed (Part 1) by Patrick Kansa
December 5th, 2011
WristWatchReview.com

 

I’m sure we’ve all seen the magazine ads that showcase watches that you might be tempted to simply dismiss as “tacti-cool”, rather than something fit for true tactical use. Today, we’re going to take a look at a watch from a company that is used to putting their pieces into military and police duty.

 

The watch in question was provided by MTM Special Ops, whose various models are rugged and have the ability to stand up to the abuse; specifically, we were provided with a sample of their Black Falcon Titanium model.

 

As you can guess by the name of the watch, it is made from titanium. This provides a 30% weight savings over the steel model (6 oz vs 9 oz.) In practice, this is still not what you would call a light watch (it’s actually slightly heavier than one of my heaviest steel divers). That said, I never felt like it was weighing my wrist down.

 

Now, on the tech that’s packed into the watch. To start with, it has a rechargeable battery. Rather than relying on some hokey connector, it actually relies on a induction charger (provided). This is a very cool bit of tech that helps to preserve the lines of the watch. Once fully charged, it should be good for about two months of use.

 

How do you know it should be charged? Just look to the second hand! When fully charged, it will move at the normal one tick per second. When the battery level is low, it will change to moving once every two seconds; when you’re about to run out of juice, it drops to moving once per four seconds. Of course, once it stops, you’re out of power. Either which way, you’ve got a power gauge that doesn’t clutter up the face, which I very much appreciated.

 

Now, two months of normal use on a battery doesn’t sound like much at first. And on most watches, that would seem like much too short of a lifespan. However, this watch has another trick up it’s sleeve – that we’ll cover in part two of the review.


A Bird Of Prey Has Landed (Part 2) by Patrick Kansa
December 6th, 2011
WristWatchReview.com

 

Yesterday, we started to take a look at the Black Falcon Titanium from MTM Watches, and we left off at the battery life (approximately two months on a single charge). Without any other background, that seems atrocious.

 

However, this watch has a trick up it’s sleeve that illuminates the reason for that lifespan ‘lights’! There are actually five distinct lighting modes on the watch (all controlled by the pusher at 2 o’clock, which locks to prevent accidental triggering):

 

Dial illumination: with a single button press, six blue LEDs light up, illuminating the face. This has an almost black light effect on the seconds hand; it also slightly charges the lume. After five seconds, the light shuts off.

 

External illumination: the second press of the pusher turns on the three white LEDs on the face of the watch. This makes for a very usable close-quarters flashlight; it stays on for 25 seconds.

 

Emergency illumination: The third press takes you into a signal mode. The white LEDs go into a “strobing” mode. This lasts until deactivated, or the battery runs down (it should last for several hours on a full charge.

 

Continuous dial illumination: The fourth press locks the blue LEDs on, once again until deactivated or the battery dies.

 

Continuous external illumination: The fifth press works much like the 4th, except the white LEDs are activated, rather than the blue.

 

So, now you can understand why the battery is rated (on the low side) for two months on a charge. The two month estimate is with using the illumination once per day; obviously, using it more or less will impact the time between charges.

 

And with the inductive charger, you might be curious as to how you know the watch is in the correct spot. Thankfully, MTM thought of that as well. Once properly place on the charger, the white LEDs blink (at a slow rate) to notify you it’s charging; when they turn off, it’s reached full charge.


A Bird Of Prey Has Landed (Part 3) by Patrick Kansa
December 7th, 2011
WristWatchReview.com

 

For the last few days, we’ve been taking a look at the Black Falcon Titanium from MTM. We’ve taken a look at the material (titanium), its power source (rechargeable battery), and the nifty trick up it’s sleeve (five lighting modes).

 

Today, we’re going to wrap up the tour of the watch, and give you a final verdict.
Without any further ado, let’s have a look-see at the specs we’re all more familiar with on a watch. Driving the hands of the watch is a proprietary quartz movement; protecting the movement is a 44mm, DLC-coated titanium case and AR-coated sapphire crystal. These combine with the screw down crown to provide 100m of water resistance (another good reason for the inductive charging).

 

With the dial, we’ve got luminous numbers (lume is also applied to the hour, minute and second hands) that appear to almost float on the dial. This is due to the visual effect that the carbon fiber which is used creates.

 

I have to admit – in many other watches where I’ve seen carbon fiber used (or at least the pattern used), it’s been to great detriment. On the Falcon, however, it works very well. It gives a subtle texture, and, as mentioned before, it makes the lumed numbers appear to float on the dial.

 

Rounding out the rest of the watch we have a uni-directional bezel (with very solid clicks) and a titanium bracelet (also DLC-coated). There’s another nice bit of innovation to be found with the bracelet.

 

Each segment is held in place by two hex head pins that screw in (one on each side of the link). This makes adjusting the size of the bracelet a snap with the included tools. The one part of the bracelet I wasn’t as enamored with is the deploying portion of the buckle. While I had the watch on, that part of it dug into my wrist – enough so that I needed to remove the watch for stretches at a time.

 

If you’re in an active duty situation, this may not be a problem. If you’re working away at a desk (like I was), that pressure may be a drawback. Of course, they do have other strap options, and I have a feeling this watch would be very much at home on a NATO/Zulu-style strap.

 

Now, when you realize these are serialized (and limited edition) and come with a three year warranty, you’re going to expect a bigger price tag- and this watch is no exception. The titanium model we tested retails for $895 (the steel version goes for $695).

 

This definitely isn’t in impulse-buy territory; yet it doesn’t seem totally unreasonable for the amount of tech you’re getting. And, if you’re the sort who would normally carry a flashlight, this watch could definitely do double-duty with your EDC. Regardless, this is a watch that seems to be built to last for the long haul, and would be a competent addition to your collection, should you be lacking a rough and tumble option.

 

Our thanks to the fine folks at MTM for sending over this watch for review!

 


 

MTM Hypertec Review

 

Watch Review: MTM Special Ops H-61GIID by Time to Blog Watches
March 28th, 2018
TimetoBlogWatches.com

 

I have been fortunate to have this watch in for review as it is my 4th review of a MTM Special Ops watch. On a personal level I do tend to gravitate towards tool watches and dive watches. I spend a lot of time outdoors hiking, climbing, etc… so I like to wear the appropriate watch that I know can handle what I dish out. I certainly don’t worry about hitting my watch into rocks or getting it covered in mud, that’s why I always chose a watch that can handle it. Unless it’s a dress watch, all other watches in my collection know that they aren’t going to get babied. That’s why I can appreciate what MTM does because they make watches that are meant for adventure.

 

Today we will exploring the MTM H-61 watch together. The Hypertec series is part of MTM’s luxury line. Though it is part of their luxury line, the Hypertec series are still made “combat ready timepieces are GSA approved, Mil-Spec compliant and limited edition. Each MTM military watch is individually numbered and fabricated from a solid block of Titanium or 316L stainless steel.”

 

What I thought at first when I saw the black PVD case was how cool would this watch look with a distressed case and bracelet, like it was begging “please abuse me”. I never purposely abuse watches, but I certainly don’t baby them. Scratches and dents tell a story and I would never deny a watch of having an opportunity to tell a story.

 

The black PVD case and matching bracelet finish is done with precision and is even throughout. One noticible improvement is the bezel function, it is much tighter with far less play than any other MTM watch that I have experienced. The bezel is extremely easy to grip and operate in wet and dry conditions. I like that the bezel has engraved numbers on it, but without any type of filler. This keeps a stealthy appearance to the watch and if you are using this watch in a combat type of situation the last thing you want is a lighthouse glowing on your wrist. I have read some criticism of the lume on MTM watches, but like I said those who are using these watches in combat situations, the lume is more than enough of what’s needed, flashlight lume is definitely not an ally.

 

The Hypertec has two crowns, a larger screwed down crown which is responsible for setting the both time features and the date, the smaller crown is responsible for rotating the inner chapter ring. Both the crowns are easy to grip and function with a precise crispness that you would expect. Something else that I have come to expect with MTM watches is the drilled lugs with solid screw bars. I like how the bracelet doesn’t have solid end links. The angled, squared lugs teamed with the bracelet style gives the H-61 a real rugged appearance. I appreciate that MTM went with a matching caseback instead of going with a stainless steel case back. This caseback features an engraved MTM logo which is very cool in my opinion. The caseback screws down and locks into place adding a bit of extra security.

 

This version of the H-61 has a day/night style brass dial, which the day portion is the textured bottom half of the dial and the night section is the matte black top section. All of the main numbers on the dial are slightly raised which like the textured portion of the dial, also adds the the depth of this dial and adds to the legibility. The legibility on this dial isn’t an issue regardless if the numbers were raised or not because the numbers are large and have a green tinted white color which of course has lume treatment applied. If you look carefully you will notice smaller grey numbers printed next to the main numbers, these smaller numbers are for the small red hand which is for 24hr function. I have always appreciated a 24hr dial, especially when its split into a day/night style dial like the H-61 is.

 

A few of the other details on the dial that are definitely worth mentioning starting with the date window located at the 3 o’clock position. MTM got this detail 50/50 and by that I mean they didn’t eliminate the 3 on the dial which keeps a nice flow of symmetry, but I suggest that they should have used a black date wheel with white numbers instead. Another suggestion is that insted of removing the 6 o’clock marker for the applied logo, I would have moved the applied logo to under the 12 o’clock position, kept the 6 o’clock marker in place and placed all the dial text above the 6. The hands on the H-61 are great and I wouldn’t change anything about them. MTM went with matte style hour and minute hands with lume treatment, as for the seconds and 24hr hand they both are red with a gloss finish. All the hands extend out reaching their intended destinations making it easier for the wearer to use the functions.

 

The H-61 is MTM’s answer of merging civilian life with the tactical life, a watch that can make a seamless transition back & forth between the two. The bracelet can easily transition as well, but there are a so many options for straps, and options for the case, dial as well. You can go full on dress style or full on tactical style and even go middle of the road. The control is in your hand and you can play around on MTM’s website to see what all the combinations will look like. The H-61 is also MTM’s way of making a more affordable option to those who have been interested in MTM, but didn’t want to go in fully to the tactical route, which can be pricey for the everyday watch enthusiast. Though the H-61 is an affordable option make no assumptions on the quality, all of that MTM rugged quality has not been sacrificed here.

 

Thank you all for reading and as always your comments and questions are welcome below.

 

Thank you MTM.

 


 

MTM RAD Review

 

Watch Review: MTM Special Ops RAD by Time to Blog Watches
November 24th, 2017
TimetoBlogWatches.com

 

It is no secret that I love the outdoors and it is also no secret that I love tactical watches, watches designed to handle the abuse that you can dish out. That is what MTM Special Ops has been doing for years. “For over 25 years, MTM (Multi-Time Machine) established itself by creating tactical timepieces for the watch industry. Over those years, the company founder (ex-military) and MTM team kept their ears to the ground and were quick to respond to the needs of their peers still in service. When called upon, MTM developed and engineered watches to withstand extreme conditions. Crafted like an instrument and designed with unparalleled accuracy, MTM Special Ops Watches are built for action.” I for one do not want to be worried if my watch can handle whatever adventure I take it on. How will the watch that came in handle itself? Well let’s explore it together.

 

Today I will be looking at the MTM RAD. I was so excited to get the packaging opened to see the watch in person. As I am sure you guys are when you order a watch. There are two types of package openers out there, my wife is one kind and I am definitely the opposite. She will savor every moment, carefully peeling back each individual piece of tape. It probably takes her 10 minutes to open each present on Christmas. I on the other hand rip into a package like Arnold did back in the day tearing into the enemy’s base. Speaking of Arnold, when I finally got to the watch, I immediately thought that I could see him wearing this watch either in Commando or Predator.

 

The case is definitely a focal point of this watch and that is definitely what I noticed first. The matte finished dark grey solid Titanium case definitely sets the tone for this menacing piece. The bead blasted finish looks fantastic and gives the watch a stealthy appearance. The last thing you want to give away your position is your high polished stainless case glistening in the sunlight. That’s how I also feel about flashlight lume on a “military” themed watch, but I will talk more about that later.

 

The RAD (short for Radioactive) case has a complete and finished feel. After spending a lot of time with this watch, that is one thing that I noticed. I could tell that MTM spent quite a bit of time in the planning and design phase with this watch. Each of the pushers follows the lead of the large, oversized screw down crown, all of which have knurled edges. All of which are extremely easy to grip and extremely easy to operate. Each functions with absolute precision. The knurled edges look badass and add to the overall presence that this watch has. Another detail that shows MTM’s commitment to design is how each of the pushers, crown and screw bars have a hexagon shape. This shape is carried through to the 4 screws that are located on the top of the case in each of the 4 corners.

 

The bezel on the Rad has a nice staggered, 3 dimensional look. This look was achieved by staggering the height of the bezel in an alternating fashion. For example the 60 position on the bezel jets out, then the 10 position is in, this alternating pattern is continuous around the entire bezel. This detail on the bezel doesn’t stand alone and I will explain this later in the review. The bezel detail adds to the ease of operation in terms of gripping the bezel to rotate. This detail of the 3 dimensional bezel also helps for reference in low-lit situations where you have to rely on your sense of touch for orientation to the bezel/dial correlation.

 

The RAD case size is definitely large coming in at 46mm x 20mm. I absolutely appreciate the size of this case and it’s practicality. A small, dainty case wouldn’t work for this watch. Some will complain that it’s large case will create a banging hazard on door frames and door knobs, if this worries you this isn’t the watch for you. This watch is not meant to be babied. It was intended to be used in the field, to take the abuse that comes with that line of work. The last thing on your mind is worry of your watch and if it is going to fail you. And that should be your last thought, MTM designed this case with that in mind. The short lugs on the RAD allow the watch to sit well on the wrist and cuts down on wrist overhang for those who have smaller wrists.

 

The large dial is extremely legible yet retains an overall stealthy appearance. The dial is a combination of analog and digital display. The digital display is responsible for displaying the Time, Date, Alarm (RAD), Backlight. These functions are accessible via the button pushers that are located on either side of the case. There is a slight learning curve with navigating through the functions and figuring out what does what. But after a small amount of time, you will be navigating through this watch like a pro.

 

The matte grey backdrop of this dial is stunning. There are so many subtle details on this dial that I absolutely love. What I like about this dial first and foremost is that it seemingly disappears until you need it. The combination of dark and light grey keeps the dial stealthy like I mentioned before. I also mentioned earlier that the bezel has a close relation to the dial. Just as the bezel alternates in height, the inner chapter ring color correlates directly to the bezel, by alternating between light grey and dark gray, in sections of 10. Under certain light the inner chapter ring completely disappears, just as the radioactive symbol on the dial does. A detail that took me a few weeks to notice. The raised hour markes give some depth to the dial on the RAD. At first I thought the hands on the RAD could have been just a little bit longer and thicker. But as I spent more time with this watch I realized why the hands are this way. If the hands were bigger then they would block the digital display and again I find another detail that shows MTM gave serious thought to the design of this watch.

 

Now let’s tackle the RAD name for this model. Yes it is a pretty rad watch, but RAD in this case is short for radioactive. This watch has the ability to detect Gamma-Radiation with A Geiger-Muller tube. The watch is able to record this data which can then be downloaded with a it’s included flash drive. This isn’t some gimmick faux military themed watch, this watch was designed for field use hands down. I won’t bore you with the technical details. The video below does a good job of showing off what this watch can do in terms of the technical features.

 

The MTM RAD is a rugged watch with some amazing tech features some that are range from the typical such as day/date digital display, minute/second digital display, backlight, alarm, analog display to the more complex like the Geiger Counter. The watch is very well made, designed to handle the terrain and abuse that transpires out in the field. Even if your field isn’t a military field, this watch will be a great companion for your field, whether your field is hiking in the woods or snowboarding down the mountain side, or mountain biking, whatever your field may be the RAD will handle it. That is part of the reason why MTM went with their proprietary quartz movement with Swiss analog.

 

I will address my nit-picky areas of recommendations for improvements on an already well designed watch. The bezel has a little more play in it than I like on a bezel. If you are someone who gets bothered by hairlines on your watch then the sandblasted finish shouldn’t be your first choice of cases. Luckily MTM offers the RAD in a silver and black. Personally I think the hairlines add a badass look to the watch. I call them hairlines because they aren’t scratches in the Titanium, they are superficial hairlines in the finish. Since the RAD was designed for use in the field, the Tritium lume doesn’t glow bright like a flashlight for the reason no to give away your position in dark situations. That is where the backlight feature comes in handy, to light the digital time display to be used at your discretion. For my fellow fans of cartoons/comics from the 1980’s, if Firefly or Snake Eyes from Gi Joe had a watch this would be it.

 

Some people will be turned off by the case size on this watch and some may say that the trend of watches is reverting back to smaller sizes. My personal view on trends is that they are just bullshit tatics set by the some in the industry to keep you spending money. My feelings on the matter is buy what you like and what makes you happy. So if you are looking for a well made watch, with a killer case, the MTM RAD is a great option. The RAD comes in at $1500 with the military style NATO strap with a large sandblasted signed buckle, the Titanium bracelet is also an option which comes in at $1700. This is a specialty and limited edition watch.

 

I want to personally thank MTM Special Ops and you all for reading. As always I welcome your questions and comments below.

 

Specifications:

 

GLASS | Sapphire Crystal; Anti Reflective & Scratch Resistant
WATER RESISTANCE | 100 Meters / 330 Feet
CASE SIZE | 46mm (Width) x 20mm (Height)
WEIGHT | 7.5oz (With Titanium Bracelet) 5.0 oz (Non-Metal Strap)

 


 

MTM Silencer Review

 

Watch Review: MTM Special Ops Silencer by Time to Blog Watches
August 31st, 2016
TimetoBlogWatches.com

 

RUGGED. ADVENTUROUS. TATICAL. All of us have heard these terms used to describe a watch. Quite often when you receive the watch you quickly find out those terms are used a little to freely. When I buy a watch that is labeled rugged, tactical, adventurous, I am going to use it to its full capabilities. I spend a lot of time in the elements, outdoors, and where there is a lot of abuse to the watch on my wrist. I expect a watch that’s labeled these things to handle what I can dish-out. It is so disappointing when a watch fails you, especially when it’s supposed to be designed to keep up and handle your adventures.

 

If speaking on experience of design alone, MTM seems really promising considering that they originally designed watches for use by Special Operations Forces, Navy SEALs, Army Rangers, Air Force Pilots, Delta Force Units, SAS, S.W.A.T. Teams, Police Officers, Firefighters, DEA, FBI & Secret Service Agents and not for the general public. The last thing those ‘guys’ want to worry about out in the field is their watch failing them. If a watch can hold up to what they can dish-out, then it surely can with what the general public can put it through. Right? Well let’s find out shall we.

 

Upon first sight the case does scream rugged as heck. The matte grey sandblasted case is pretty awesome. Has stealth style but not as dark as if it was the DLC coated version. The sandblasted finish is the perfect in between place. The finish teamed with the square case shape gives the Silencer such a tactical/tech look, like a Transformer as my son described it. It is very cool like a Transformer, if Megatron transformed into a watch, the Silencer would be that watch. No exaggeration. The case comes in at 44m x 14mm From shape and feel alone this watch is battle ready.

 

The Silencer features a central crown and 4 pushers which all of these bad boys screw down into place making for a good water-tight seal up to 330 FT to be exact. I love how the pentagon screw heads of the case match the crown & pushers. A really great consistency detail that can be found on the screw bars for the strap and along the bracelet. The crown and the pushers are easy to grip thanks to the precise and excellant edges. Check out the pics to see how nice. This nice edging can also be found around the compass bezel. A true adventurer’s bezel. You can use the bezel as a compass with positioning it with the sun (see pic in additional picture section).

 

The square case has beautiful angles throughout. The lug and crown guards are awesome. On the non crown side engraved into the integrated pusher guards is MTM. It’s a great detail that remains refined and simple, but adds to the overall aesthetics of this watch. Even the triangle lugs have some great detail and angles. The lugs have holes that allow the screw in bracelet/strap bars to go through. The screw down case back features an engraved MTM knife logo. An welcome and beautiful detail.

 

The black dial is viewed with ease in water and on land thanks to the “crystal clear” sapphire, uh well crystal. Pun clearly intended. The black dial isn’t what it appears to be at all. I will explain in a minute. The dial features lume coated numerals and indexes as well as lume coated hour & minute hands. The long orange second hand has a nice lume arrowhead tip. At the 10 and 2 o’clock positions are small yellow circles. Interesting and puzzling at first glance, completely awesome once you discover what they are. By unscrewing the bottom left button pusher and pressing it once activates the two bright white LEDs flashlight and pressing it twice activates the emergency strobe functions. These lights are extremely bright and can be seen for a pretty impressive distance at night or dark situations. Extremely helpful when using this watch in the tatical/outdoors setting.

 

At the 6 o’clock index is the MTM knife logo and looking closer you can faintly see printed dark grey ALM TMR STW VIB and BEEP. By unscrewing and pushing the top left pusher those printed letters light up & unleash some awesome features of the Silener watch. The Silencer features a LED display area shows above the printed letters the current time, alternative time zone, month, date, 4 daily alarm settings, countdown timer, chronograph and alarm beeping or vibration status. But what makes this feature even more awesome is the fact you can’t see the LED screen when the modes aren’t activated. It remains hidden like Arnold’s foe in The Predator movie. Having a LED display screen is cool, but having it truly hidden until activated is way beyond cool. It keeps a certain balance on the dial that can’t be achieved when the screen is in plain sight. I love the combination of analog and digital on the Silencer.

 

Yes quartz movements have a battery that is on a limited life span, typically 2 years is average. But MTM takes it a step further here. Included is a charger and you don’t have to plug it into your watch either. What you do is simply place the watch on the electromagnetic induction charger overnight. The New Black Silencer will be fully charged without having to open the case or change the battery. You don’t have to worry about over charging because the Silencer is equipped with overcharge protection and low battery alert. When fully recharged it can last for up to an impressive 4 months. The 4 month charge can last when under the following conditions A.) Starting with a full charge B.) One beeper alert C.) one vibration alert D.) 20 seconds of external LED light actuation per day. Lasting 4 months on a single full charge is quit handy when you are in limited electricity access situations. I took the Silecer on a 2 1/2 week trip through some harsh conditions and I used all the functions many times, including the flashlight mode that was used many dark nights, and the charge lasted well past the end of my trip. I was very impressed.

 

Something else that also impressed me on the Silencer is the bracelet. This massive and rugged bracelet is built for abuse. The links are held in place by octagon head screws which the included tool are removed with ease. The bracelet sand blasted finish perfectly matches the finish on the case. The end links at the lugs are solid, not cheap hollow links. Which you want on a watch that is designed for the abuse of the wearer. The deployment buckle features a micro adjustment to fine tune the fit and it also is engraved with MTM. The clasping system works without fail. I love how solid this bracelet feels on the Silencer. It’s definitely a plus.

 

The Silencer is a well made piece that is built for those “survival situations”. It feels great on the wrist and feels like it can handle any situation on land and sea. The features on the Silencer lend a helpful hand on any mission. Everything functions perfectly as you would expect. Coming in at $750 the Silencer is quite impressive for what you get. A solid case, functions galore, an included charger that allows a single charge to last up to 4 months, and a massive bracelet. This watch is constructed like a tank and it’s surely ready for battle.

 

What’s not ready for battle and my only complaint about the Silencer is the sand blasted finish. Unfortutely it shows scratches pretty easily which is a bit disappointing because this watch is designed for outdoors/tatical/survival situations. A watch like this shouldn’t have to be babied. Now the quality and build on this watch is great, it’s only the finishing that takes a hit. Is this a deal breaker? Certainly not. The Silencer also is available in a brushed stainless steel and DLC coated versions as well. I would like to give the brushed stainless steel a go in the field to see how well it would hold up.

 

If you are looking for a tactical, badass watch that can handle the outdoor with ease and has some great hidden features, then the Silencer is a great consideration. I know personally it can handle adventures on land and sea. I put it through a lot and it didn’t miss a beat.

 

I want to personally thank MTM for this honor and for this opportunity for the review. I was impressed on how the Silencer was able to keep up with me on my testing adventures.

 

Thanks for reading.

 


 

MTM Vulture Review

 

MTM Silver Vulture Titanium by Mike Wolfe a/k/a UKWolfeman
August 5, 2011
Watchfreeks.com – Forum Review

 

First Impression: MTM provided great presentation for a massive titanium time piece that appears to be very well constructed and at first glance Reactor on steroids is the first thing that came to mind so readers have a good point of reference. However, I am in no way comparing this MTM to any watch brand at this point as this was obviously a first reaction only. Potentially an ultimate sport/activity watch.

 

Watch Box: The Vulture comes safely packed in a very nice black waterproof Barracuda box along with instruction manual, tools, charger w/ cable, warranty card and a cool “Dog Tag”. The overall presentation was very pleasing and superior in quality and flair.

 

Case – Crown Side: The smaller screw down crown at the 2 o’clock position controls the lighting functions of the Vulture. The 7mm screw down crown at the 3 o’clock position controls the time and date functions while the canteen style screw down crown at the 4 o’clock position is for the recharging function for the lighting technology in the Vulture. Each crown has a knurled texture which makes them easy to grasp and rotate appropriately. The overall case size of this piece measures in at 47mm in diameter and approximately 17.5mm in thickness. Lug to lug measurement is approximately 56mm. The Vulture is very substantial in size while the titanium composition keeps the weight to a minimum.

 

Case – Non Crown Side: Normally on my reviews the non crown side of the case doesn’t present anything significant of note other than a good view of the finish and height of the watch being reviewed. However, with the Vulture this side of the case while showing the nice finish and height of the watch also shows a unique feature to this piece. Between the 8 and 9 o’clock positions the case jets out into almost what I would call a wing which I find to be a very nice design feature that corresponds to the model name. The wing leads me to believe this is not a catalog case and was actually made for MTM.

 

Bezel, Dial and Hands: The bezel is a true 120 click unidirectional that is very easy to grasp at the edges which requires appropriate force to rotate. The bezel contains hex screws around the dial but not resting at each hour position but provides in my opinion nice balance to the bezel. I am unsure if the hex screws are functional or rather just for aesthetics.

 

Resting below the sapphire crystal is carbon fiber dial. The dial on the Vulture is very unique and has a lot going on without being too busy. Each hour position is marked by the appropriate numeral except at the 3 and 6 o’clock positions. At the 3 there are oversized date windows and at the 6 is one of the LED lights for a couple of the watch lighting functions. Each hour is marked by luminous indicators which provide a more than adequate lume. A very unique design feature is that each indicator slightly rests over the edge of each hour numeral which is unusual but rather cool in my opinion. The company name and series is on the dial below the 12. USA, water resistance info and company logo are on the dial just above the 6. I will address the USA notation later in the review summary.

 

Small lighting indicators are inset in the dial on either side of the 12 o’clock position that illuminate according to the charge level of the rechargeable battery cell for the lighting technology contained within the watch. 3 LED lights are raised through the dial between the 1 and 2 o’clock position, 5 and 7 o’clock position and the 10 and 11 o’clock position. The chapter ring surrounding the dial indicates each corresponding minute position and has openings for lights necessary for the additional lighting functions of the Vulture.

 

The hands on the Vulture are unique. The second hand is orange and appears typical. The hour and minute hands are outlined in orange and contain adequate amounts of super-luminova. The hour hand is in the shape of an arrowhead (best way to describe) and is very appropriate in size in respect to the dial. The uniqueness comes with the minute hand. The minute hand is actually shaped like a dagger/trench knife/special forces knife (not sure which is most appropriate) and matches the logo on the case back of the watch. While some may find the hands especially the minute hand gimmicky in nature I find it to be refreshing and creative/militaristic which also shows me a lot of time and effort went into the design of this watch. Maybe a reader can identify the blade more appropriately.

 

Case Back: The case back is nicely machined. The dagger logo, model name, and serial number are center of the case back. Around the outer edge of the case back the company name, series and other non spec related information is engraved. Very aesthetically pleasing at least to me.

 

Straps/Bracelet: This particular model comes standard with the 24mm bracelet. Other models of the Vulture come with either a neoprene, ballistic or rubber strap. All models have screw in lugs in order to allow for switching out straps of your choice. Other strap options are available through MTM for an additional charge. The links on the bracelet model are approximately 4mm in thickness and are of the screw in variety adding to the durability of the watch. The links are beveled resulting in a raised appearance in the center adding to the overall texture of the bracelet. The scissor style clasp is push button with flip lock. The clasp is engraved with the dagger logo while the flip lock is engraved with the company name. The clasp contains 3 micros for additional sizing. The clasp is similar to many others seen on the market. Sized to approximately a 7 1/2 inch wrist in the photos with one link removed.

 

Lume: …The super-luminova on the hour markers and hands is on par with any other that I have seen and owned. The afterglow on the markers and hands was still present at 4am making reading the time still very easy.

 

4 light modes using multi LED strobes and an ultra-violet (UV) light frequency mode are present on the Vulture. … The combination of the super-luminova and lighting technology in the Vulture makes it one of the most luminescent on the market that I have seen to date.

The light modes are engaged with each depression of the crown at the 2 o’clock position Levels 1 through 4. … Level 1 is known as Internal Mode. The UV lighting illuminates dial for 8 seconds. Level 2 LEDs for 20 seconds and Level 3 Flashing LEDs in Emergency Mode will flash as long as battery has a charge. Level 4 which could be used for extreme diving conditions the UV lighting illuminates the dial as long as the battery maintains a charge.

 

Recharge Capability: The Vulture comes with a USB cable and AC adapter for recharging of the power cell in the watch that supplies the power for the watch lighting technology. The USB can be used for connection and charging by laptop or desktop PC. The AC adapter allows for recharging on either a 110 or 220 wall outlet. As mentioned earlier there are lighting indicators on either side of the 12 o’clock position that will indicate when the watch lighting technology needs charging and when it is adequately charged. The battery/power cell is rated at 10 years per MTM. The lighting technology load/drain on the rechargeable battery/cell can be discharged supposedly in less than a day with continual use.

 

I find the recharging capability of this watch to be very unique to the market as I have not seen others outside of the MTM brand though there may be others to which I am unaware. The watch came possibly fully charged so I have been unable to test the re-charging functions to this point but will update this review once recharging is necessary including an attempt of a photo on the charge indicators. The watch movement is powered by a standard long life watch battery.

 

Summary: The Vulture arrived with fantastic presentation/packaging as well as some unique features with the watertight carrying case, titanium construction, sapphire crystal, Ronda Swiss Quartz movement, screw down crowns, lighting system and recharging capability of the lighting system. MTM pieces are also GSA approved. The amount of lumi and lighting technology on the Vulture is excellent almost stunning and provides superior illumination and afterglow duration well into the night. As mentioned earlier the dial notates USA above the 6 o’clock position which is another aspect of the Vulture that I personally find appealing because while components of the watch may not be made in the USA, according to MTM, the actual assembly and quality control for their watches takes place in Los Angeles, California. A direction I hope to see many other US based companies to take in the future.

 

The only upgrade I would love to see in regards to the Vulture would be the addition of half links or a redesigned clasp. If half links are not entirely possible redesigning the clasp allowing for more micro adjustments will increase sizing options. While the Vulture is not a true dive watch a diver’s extension would also be nice since the Water Resistance rating is at 200m making it more than capable in some diving situations. Of course an option to redesign on the bracelet or clasp would be to have one of the other strap options on hand which would make using it in some diving situations an option for those with larger wrists.

 

The MTM Silver Vulture Titanium seems to be a fantastic militaristic and rugged style time piece. Being a former law enforcement professional, I can see how this particular MTM offering and others can offer maximum benefits to the wearer. I wish I had one of these when I was still in the profession. I also believe the Vulture would be an ultimate watch for any type of activity, not just those undertaken by our law enforcement community and military.

 


 

MTM Warrior Review

 

The Black Warrior Titanium by Christian Cantrell
WatchReport.com

 

Hello to all from around the world and especially you “Documentally” for this post. Here I am once more to complete another review, thus far on the – “BLACK WARRIOR TITANIUM“.

 

I have posted four readings on this site in regards to the BLACK WARRIOR TITANIUM: One on 6/8/2008, 13/8/2008, 21/9/2008 and on 26/2/2008. In this review I will discuss the over all wearing of this time-piece and some comments about this watch to date.

 

Please keep in mind that I could care non-the-less on weather you (Our Readers), or for that matter the company,(M.T.M.) might regard on this said review of this most wonderful time piece.

 

The purpose here is to inform you on its particular performance thus far, ie. the “BLACK WARRIOR TITANIUM”, since its purchase over one year to date. With this said- lets proceed shall we?

 

First off I do not work for M.T.M. rather; I am a human being that likes to play. Having a time piece of any sorts is a must for me, as I need to tell time.

 

After some lengthy reviews of popular watch designs nationally and internationally in the past before M.T.M. purchase; the choice was made.
I questioned exactly as to the function of my intended use of a dynamic watch. That simple.

 

I was honest with my ideal purchase of a watch and the required desire of a time piece to suite my high levels of an active life style. I could have chosen another just as easily; but I chose this one instead.

 

It would be difficult to say anything negative about this watch thus far. Unless,those of you who warrant its cultivation by the hands of mere-mortals imperfect well; it is what it is. -And it is an absolute “Hulk” of a dive watch and so much more to boot!

 

It is currently on my wrist as I type this page and it looks absolutely Fantastic! -No Joke.

 

So far it has seen the floors of the Pacific Ocean @ a level depth of 140′ (French Polynesia) and scraped its sandy bottom on many occasions while diving. Rip Curls on the shores and sandy beaches for a month long vacation.

 

Bazaar’s too Bush Hunting for Elk and Black Tail Deer in the Pacific North West Region where I reside. Trail running and hiking; working in hospital using plaster-of-paris (which contains lime). And yet, the dial has literally not a scratch on its face. Not a glimmer of a hint of a scratch.

 

The “TRITIUM GAS TUBES” are here to stay in the watch world. There is no doubt that any watch maker will discontinue using these wonderful little self sufficient gems for electrical lighting in this class of watch design. They are perfect in this class of design and function. Kudos M.T.M.
-Well Done!

 

I take it that if the lighting makes you more visible on enemy radar; well then I guess you could just purchase a Velcro -strap with a hoodie to go over the face of the watch if your worried about being spotted by your foe. Seriously, they claim 25 year life on the gas tubes? Darn! I guess I would be dead and gone by then mates. Kidding, I would just buy another and then be gone after it wears its self out. All this for under 1200.00 USD. Sold!

 

Accuracy in telling time:

 

This watch takes a lithium battery that lasts 10 years. Free from dial up….. I’ll say that again for those of you who missed it:”-This watch takes a lithium battery that lasts 10 years”. Accuracy is mute.

 

I have two atomic clocks; one @ my residence and the other here @ hospital. Never have I ever lost a second during the testing phase that is still ongoing of this watches accuracy to tell proper time. I only change the date then set it once more. Pure simplicity!

 

Like I have said before in prior posts: With over 6,000 hours diving under my belt I see no need for the more expensive watch other than conventional looks and pricing. Remember to keep in mind exactly what it is you are after in a watch before committing your dollars towards its purchase. Life is all too short and dollars are all too precious these days for many.

 

Choose wisely and until the next review …. enjoy life to the extent of your imagination.